Here and there (english version)

Figured out that my English speaking friends might want to read these observations that I made through my first 5 months in this country on the other side of the globe.

New Zealand is an amazing country so beautiful. All friendly people and environments. But some things are a bit odd, no big things, just things that make me stop for a second and wonder "Why do they do like this?". And to be honest I have no idea, don't know if the things are good or bad. You have to decide for yourself. Here's my observation list:

1. They drive on wrong side of the road. After 5 months I finally look the right way when I cross the road.
2. No car will stop for someone that walks, keep all eyes open!!!
3. The trafic light will go green and then count down the time you have left to cross the road. You can also cross the road diagonally. Someone has obviously thought about this, clever!
4. The trains sucks.. compared to Sweden at least.
5. The country code is 46, opposite to Sweden (64).
6. North is warm, south is cold, make no sense what so ever!
7. Summer, is winter, Christmas is in the summer. It's warm in January...
8. The bottle caps can be screwed back on, handy!
9. There's a lot of Asian people. If I didn't know this was NZ I would think I was still in Hongkong.
10. You have to swipe your buscard twice, when you get on AND when you get off. Make sure you don't forgett to swipe, can be really expensie!
11. The only country I've been to where "AS" means something good. Sweet as!
12. They call Converse "Chucks" and Flip flops "Jandals".
13. There's earthquakes all the time, scary!
14. The pie is not a pie. It's a pasrty filled with a runny substance and some pieces of meat. The real pie is called a Quiche.
15. Everyone is huge! Not fat, no overwieght, just very very big, amazing!
16. The nicest people are from other countries, the nicest ones are from the middle east...

... did I mention that this country is up side down, inside out, the opposite and just totally diffrent. But still just the same.. Weird, I know!

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0